+ Reply + New Job/Topic
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Topic: SAIPEM OR TO CONTINUE AS AN FSE

SAIPEM OR TO CONTINUE AS AN FSE

HOUSE,

I am a civil engineer, I just had an interview with saipem for a civil engr. trainee position a few month ago. Few days back I was invited for a pre employment discussion where I was told that the take home is 80k gross. No yearly grants and to sign a bond to put in atleast 3yr.

I am already working with a telecoms firm as a field support engineer where i earn at least 2 times that amount and makes four times it on the field before the end of every month. I would have actually loved to put an oil and gas career first but the pay is very annoying for a multi national like saipem.

please advice me on what to do cos I am confused right now.

Re: SAIPEM OR TO CONTINUE AS AN FSE

Dont go to Saipem,u have no career in saipem.

Who told you that Oil and Gas is better than telecommunications,both are good.Saipem is slave comapny,they will use you and dump you and u wont have anything to show for it.

I have friends who left saipem recently en mass becos of their poor salary and shabby treatment.

if i were you, i wouldn't even think of it....except of course if you do not want to work in your field.
    my roomate in the university join them last year, he read civil too. and i must confess he is doing well.
    the training that he was and is still being exposed to is unparalled. the funds may not be there initially but believe me, by the time you have put in that three, you are going to be highly sought after. you also have a chance to sent abroad for training and masters.
    i do not want to chose for you cos i know we are rational individuals.
    so here's a guide to help you decide
    1. what/where do i want to do with my life?
    2. what role will the company i work for play in the plan?
    3. what is my priority.......money, career or service to humanity?
    4. what is the plan B, C, or even D?

@sunnez2k10