+ Reply + New Job/Topic
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Topic: Shell is Bias

Re: Shell is Bias

@gigaleo
    Abeg, wot is bias about an OIL PRODUCING company giving preferential treatment to engineers. Are Hospital Bias for hiring doctors or Banks bias for hiring accountants? Just so u know, Out of every 10 graduates any oil producing or oil serving company hires, 7 will most likely be engineers. So get over it and focus ur energy on other companies that will be more suitable for u.

@ gzl: i undastand dat companies like shell should have a preference 4 engine guys but my course of study isn't dat far 4rm engr. I studied biochemistry & i still tink dat there must be a place 4 a biochemist in a company like shell. I realy wud love 2 be in d oil & gas industry.
    @ british: Try 2 be more vast in ur reasoning. Your analogy of hospitals and doctors doesn't fit in here. Can u authoritatively say dat it's only engrs dat can work in an oil company? Who do u tink does d administrative work? When there is an oil spill,who does research on how 2 salvage d resulting environmental degradatn. Wat abt d geologists,can an engr perform their task in d oil sector? I agree dat they have preferences 4 engrs(for field operatns & oda stuff u guys do) bt face it they still need pple 4rm oda fields.

Wow Gigaloe! u are sooo vast in ur thinking. Since i have to spell it out to u, i was relating the dominant professions of each field i mentioned. I even stated that out of every 10 job offers, 7 will be for engineers. Doesn't that mean the other 3 slots are for ppl like u who do the research on how to salvage.... Guy, one doesn't need to be vast in knowledge to know that engineers are higher in demand in the Oil company-it's just common sense. Biochemists may be in demand probably once in every 3 yrs but engineers and probably geologists will always be in demand. Like i said earlier channel ur energy elsewhere and stop trying to make a point out of nothing.