+ Reply + New Job/Topic

Topic: I need advice

Posh

I need advice

Hi guys. Av applied 4 several jobs, both on & off-line, but i don't get invited 4 written tests. I graduated with a 2.2 in Accounting & i av about 2yrs. experience in the insurance industry, but i don't want 2 continue with an insurance career, cos d future of insurance in Nigeria is unpromising. Am 26, what do u think might be wrong? Pls, my good people advise.

Re: I need advice

You dont have to be depressed by this present situation. The problem is half was solved since you already know you dont want to stay in your present industry. What you need is a "SWOT" analysis of you present self and situation.

S - strenghts
    W - Weaknesses
    O - Opportunities
    T - Threats

This might help you to see more about what you can do for yourself outside your present occupation cos you might not be looking in the right direction for your next job.

ALL D BEST PAL

I think you've not had it that bad..depends on your perspective. Two years experience is a plus; if you play it right on your CV.

Since you don't want to continue in your present career, (which is actually related to your field of study and the experience you have gathered), you should think about building skills in the area u want to specialize in. I'm not necessarily saying go back to school, but think about taking professional certification exams in whichever area it is. Think about joining professional bodies in that field. What you need to do is to generate things that sell CV in your new area.

I agree with the previous post on you doing a SWOT (and deepsee34 is actually half solved since u know what u want to do) but u also need to take the more proactive step of looking for ways to add value to yourself in the new career direction you want to go in.

Wishing you all the very best
    The help of God is the greatest need of any person...

When you know where you are going you are half way there.
    I sugest that you: