+ Reply + New Job/Topic

Topic: Careers back home

Careers back home

Hi naija brothers and sisters, just some advice needed desperately.

I am planning at some stage to return to Nigeria if the right opportunity exists

I have 7 years experience in the telecommunications/IT industry working mainly for ISPs and Financial companies.

My whole career has ranged from technical support level 1 to my current position as a network engineer.

I have worked with technologies such as MPLS, Frame-relay, ATM, ISDN , remote access ( VPNs ) and all sorts to be honest. I have a CCNA and CCNP switching ( hoping to complete CCNP shortly ) but my skill set and experience coupled with extensive classroom based courses have provided me with excellent routing and switching skills.

Currently I am the main contact between my company and ISP and I monitor the WAN and LAN for network optimisation while making sure that any bottle necks such as packet loss / slow responses are eradicated or solved speedily. I also analyse traffic trends and patterns and use the information to predict/recommend upgrades and customer solutions. I deal regularly with security ( firewall /proxy server), DHCP/DNS, and IPT ( IP Telephony ) faults and problems and of course the usual hardware installation/configuration and upgrade.

My questions is this : I am totally ingorant of telecoms and IT infrastructure in Nigeria in terms of what they offer and how advanced they are in comparison to the west, but I am aiming for network management though I have not managed anyone here ( LOL ), but based on my coordination skills, incident and problem management, working under strict SLAs and deadlines etc etc . Ialso managed a team in Nigeria but that was 13 years ago.

I need some advise before I start to approach companies. Will my skiils be useful or well sort after in my beloved homeland.

Please leave feedback even if it requires a hard saying.

God bless.

Re: You really fit man