+ Reply + New Job/Topic

Topic: MSc Subsea Engineering but BSc Computer Science ......

AOI

MSc Subsea Engineering but BSc Computer Science ......

Hi all,

Please I urgently need advice from anyone on this forum.

I have a BSc in Computer Sc and over 10 yrs Desktop Support experience in the Oil & Gas Industry. I'm planning a career switch from IT to Offshore Technology and I have applied to read MSc Subsea Engineering at a UK university. But considering the total amount involved (which is very huge) I suddenly have this fear of being disadvantaged in job searches in view of my 1st degree and previous work experiences after completing the programme.

Does anyone know if my fears are real?

Re: MSc Subsea Engineering but BSc Computer Science ......

Hi AOI,

Nice decision, but U need to weigh a lot of things before taking a leap.

My suggestion: Since you currently have a good job, I would advice that you take up Masters in Subsea Engineering by distance learning 4 2 yrs (Check out University of Aberdeen & Heriot Watt).

You might find relevant areas of application from your current job. In two years time, you will have earned the MSc. You can even request for a move to subsea operations in your current company. But i would not advise you leave your current job because you wanna pursue the subsea thing. It might not be very easy getting a job, due to your previous experience.

Also, if you can get a study leave from your company, then go for contact learning (1 year) you might be assured of a place wen U come back (either in Desktop support or Subsea opns).

My 2 cents.

Your fears are very genuine. With d present economic reality, I'll nt advice my enemy 2 leave his well paid job 4 a master degree even if it's in Havard, MIT or Imperial college. It does nt worth d sacrifice!
    Even if there was job boom, do u intend sacrificing ur 10 yrs precious IT experience for an entry level career in subsea engineering?