+ Reply + New Job/Topic
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Topic: Employments search (a fraud in nigeria?) experience

Exclamation Employments search (a fraud in nigeria?) experience

I recently saw some old email invite to Job placement on my email and remember how long it took to land my current job.
    I would appreciate if people can share their Job search experience here.
    Mine would be coming soonest

Re: Employments search (a fraud in nigeria?) experience

As a young undergraduate in the early 90’s I studied to my perceived ability, mixing serious lectures with fun (No regrets). I graduated without an extra year but ended-up DASHING almost 3 years to ASUU strikes and delay in NYSC posting turning my 5 year program to 8 year!!!
    That was 12 years ago...but looking back I thank God for the zeal I had as a COPPER! I struggled to get a SIDE job while serving in a Gov school (one of the best move I have made).
    Getting that part time job wasn’t easy, I was a fresh graduate but had the then most sort-after professional certification. But even with that i had to put pressure (submitted my resume over 5x and placed calls to a particular firm) to be shortlisted for test. I passed the company graduate test with flying colors and the company only accepted to place me on Allowance since I lacked NYSC certificate (I only had 3 months to completion of NYCS).
    This same company (where i broke their test score record) refused to change my allowance to salary months after I had finished NYSC( Why are some Nigeria employers wicked!!). Yet I represented them as senior engineer in the fields and have plenty technicians reporting to me!
    They only accepted to regularize my salary years later when I walked out on them...of course I never looked back!